Zsolt Sütó Quotations

Strekov 1075, 2017 Rizling
Jenny & Francois, Ilixir. $32
Available at Western MKT

DSCF7098

While drinking this soul-wine I transcribed words spoken by Zsolt Sütó in Terroir Squad‘s viral video profile of his estate, Strekov 1075.

“How much easier it is to understand a straightforward taste. You taste a wine like this, and you become uncertain. And people don’t want that. They want certainty.

“They can’t fathom a Grüner Veltliner fermented on the skins, and then having to decide whether the wine is good or not. That would require self awareness, to know whether you personally like it or not.

To care enough about yourself to decide whether or not you like the Grüner you have in your glass. How would he know?”

Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 5.32.23 PM

“It’s not possible to make wine this way without faith. There are certain things that are only achieved through faith.

‘That you believe. That makes it possible. Not the facts. Not the proof. Not the science. Not the totally logical and understandable form of thinking. But it is faith alone that can guide you on this path.

“And that again is another question of self awareness. What is it that you are willing to believe in. There lies hidden the solution, the path, the true meaning.

Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 5.34.32 PM

“I wish people would wake up, and would start to better understand nature. And really think about what is genuinely beautiful in life. And that conformism, comfort, and cleanness should not be guiding principles. But rather we would try and be aware of and understand ourselves.

“It’s perhaps these long forgotten values that I yearn for. And I hope that through wine I’ll obtain them.

Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 5.33.18 PM

From J&F’s site:

“Zsolt’s fermentations take place in open topped barrels with no sulfur and no intervention, he also uses a lot of skin maceration, aging under voile to create naturally strong and stable wines.”

Screen Shot 2020-07-08 at 5.41.59 PM

This wine is life changing. Wholey familiar and wildly attractive. Grounded. Unashamed.

Oblivious to fashion even as it manages to lead it.

This bottle of drink refers to its car as “my machine.” It smokes imported tobacco on rare occasions. It empties its pockets routinely.

Ilixir friends, this is a standing order for a case of any Strekov 1075 wine you can get.

Published by putnam100

Trying to answer why is funny

6 thoughts on “Zsolt Sütó Quotations

  1. Please tell me that this wine doesn’t fall into the “natty” category…. My heritage is Slovak.. I am inclined to invest in a few bottles for my 89 year old mother to enjoy…

    Also….. do I shelve the Rayas white with the Chapoutier as in a dumb stage, or is one of them imbibe-able now?

    Regards,

    Mr X.

    1. I have been reading about logical fallacies. So forgive me if I seem over vigilant against false dichotomies.
      It is very strictly natural. A good example of paleo-avant garde wine growing. And with that, one of the most unique, thorough, and full-spectrum expressions of Riesling that I have ever drunk.

      Whether that makes it superficially natty, someone not I can decide

      If you have two bottles of Les Tours Grenache Blanc I say no harm in drinking one this year. I have no information to share about its susceptibility to shutting down. As for me, I’d feel like it would be a good risk to give my second or last bottle a decade from the vintage, so 2025

      Thanks for your comment.

    1. I agree. Clearly the elder women of the village are compensated ––I assume some spending money, intangible fame, and the eternal music they have made.

Leave a comment