Announcing The Winner

IMG_6326

As you can see at the top of this page I have selected a name for this blog.

“Detroir” is a double entendre, one highbrow, one lowbrow.

First, the fancy one. It’s a portmanteau of the words “Detroit” and “terroir.”

Detroit is where I live an actual dreamlike existence, pedaling around on my Cannondale Hybrid, sipping from the gastronomic and other cultural waters that course through this place. Of course we are located on a literal river here too, and I hope this doesn’t sound too proud, but its kind of an important one. Waters and thirst are to be included in this discussion.

Terroir is a French word that doesn’t have a suitable English translation. This makes it also an English word.

Wikipedia defines terroir as:

“the set of special characteristics that the geography, geology and climate of a certain place, interacting with plant genetics, express in agricultural products like wine, coffee, chocolate, tomatoes, heritage wheat, cannabis, and tea.”

In one sense this is bound to become a travel log, only the travel to any place not inside the city of Detroit will be vicarious.

The second part of the two-part entendre in the title is a suggestion that “Detroir” is a drunkenly slurred attempt to say “Detroit.” Sometimes I have a drink after a drink. Sometimes I slur my words, and possibly therefore my meaning. It is not my intention to let inebriation obscure my thoughts, but I should at least acknowledge its inevitability.

In the interest of journalistic integrity and humanism I may occasionally use this as a platform for soul searching. Certainly there is a narcissistic component to that, but also I work from the assumption that my experiences in this life are not all that uncommon. If I suffer from manic depression, or a tapeworm, well, so might you, or someone you know. I believe in the power of written words to mark progress in the enlightenment project. Shame is self-perpetuating and of no inherent value.

Is this blog weird? Yes, I think so. But its not the only weird thing, and I hope it will be a good showcase for those other things.

There were many excellent entries in the naming contest, mostly on Facebook. Since no one directly suggested the name that won, I have decided to award the prize to Nick Serra, who’s entry prompted me to think of the solution. Also, I want to declare Zan D. a co-winner for the very high volume of excellent suggestions he offered. You boys can collect your back rubs and Nebbiolo at my birthday party this coming Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

